Sunday, February 25, 2007

de . lurking?

The term de-lurking refers to when people introduce themselves on someone's else's blog through commenting. this is my attempt at coming out on my own blog to introduce myself to each of you new...and encourage all of you to do the same.

I started this blog because I was inspired by people I run into the web and by friends who had been blogging for years. I thought it would be a fun way to keep in touch with family and friends that are living away from Argentina.
I am a Biologist, and I am currently getting my PhD in Paleobotany. I live with Scott, who is living of acting in commercials (you can check on the label "blog sponsors") and now, by giving English conversation classes. Thai, our cat, lives with us, he is a pretty happy cat as he gets to go to the terrace to look for mice and to the hall to play with the other cats. We live contently almost all the time in the Buenos Aires neighborhood of Belgrano. It is close to school and to my family, which by the way, live just next door: my sister: Luli, her fiancée: Nico and their little Valentín, the one recently incorporated to the family. Justo, my youngest brother lives across the street, but unfortunately he is moving farther to Palermo. My parents live in a farm in Córdoba, a province in the center of Argentina, but they come often... and more since little Valentín was born.
Scott's family lives in the US, he has a sister: Kelly, which is married to Chris, they both live in a place close to San Francisco with their dogs: Nali and Nesta, as well as their parents: Keiko and Steve. They are such a great family as well and we are lucky because we get to see them pretty often.
The Monte (the farm’s forest) would be my place in the world. I love collecting plants and catalogue them. I love art expressed in any way. I love objects with history. I spend a LOT of time with my computer, by the way, called Clementine. I don’t like going to movie theatres on weekends. I like all kinds of music but in my I pod I have lots of metal-Goth-doom-heavy-punk rock, which I listen with the maximum volume. When I go out at night I cannot make it through more than 3 am. I try to swim 3 times a week and I do yoga once a week. I like to take buses everywhere, specially when they detour and I get to see different streets, if I have two ways to go I will take the longest one, for sure. I drink tea every morning. I love all kind of teas. I love to cook and I love to eat. I love red wine and Absolute Vanilla. Pasta would be my favorite dish and Passion fruit my favorite flavor. Paris would be the place to come back, again and again….and live?. I love cold and dry weather. I like wearing coats and scarves. I am very tidy and organized, chaos freaks me out. I am cold blooded; when I am cold I can only get warm if a take a hot bath. I take a shower in the morning and before going to bed. I don’t talk much and I don’t laugh much either. I have a tendency to see the glass half empty and I am strongly melancholic, even though I truly enjoy being alone. I thought about publishing this post A LOT… yes, I go to therapy.

No comments: